NOEL
Last news
Tablecloths
Place mats
Bed sets
Bath towels
Accessories
T-shirts
Layette
Embroidery
patterns
The book


Opening hours:
10:30 AM
to 7:00 PM
Monday to Saturday

1, Av. Pierre 1er
de Serbie
Place d'Iéna
75116 Paris, France

Tel.
33 (0)1 40 70 14 63
 
French embroidered linens since 1883
  Home  ||  Collections  ||   Craftsmanship  ||  Heritage  ||  Your order  || Contact us   
 
A unique know-how
Hand embroidery  
The embroidery
loom
  
 
Hand-guided embroidery  

The vocation of Noël is to ensure the magic of embroidery lives on via leading-edge techniques - from the splendor of hand embroidery to the charm of machine embroidery, which makes high quality more affordable.

 

Hand embroidery

The celebrated hand-embroidered tablecloths are central to the Noël collections. These masterpieces of the art of embroidery are decorated with the most famous motifs from the 13,000 designs in the company's archives : rosebuds, ears of wheat, mimosa, oranges and lemons, ferns, lilies and thistles, ivy, geraniums...

Hand embroidery also demands meticulous preparation. The original motifs, drawn on finely perforated tracing paper, are stenciled onto the linen, cotton or organdie, then embroidered by expert fingers. This highly skilled, painstaking work has much in common with Haute Couture.

 

The embroidery loom

The "loom" has the capacity to embroider a large number of similar designs at the same time. The preparation is long and entirely manual, involving the selection and arrangement of all the colors of thread needed for each design. This technique is used to embroider tablecloths, sheets, towels, nightwear and most gift items.

 

Hand-guided embroidery

Halfway between hand and machine, "hand-guided" embroidery allows greater scope in the composition and greater sophistication in the execution of the design. The expert hand of a seamstress guides the needle of her embroidery machine.

 

An archive of 13,000 designs :
a constant source of inspiration

Noël's embroidery motifs are drawn from the inexhaustible archives maintained by the company since 1883 (more than 13,000 designs, thousands of carefully rolled-up tracings in all sizes for all compositions, ready to be used).

A constant source of inspiration, these designs need only a little reworking to bring them absolutely up-to-date. The delicacy of the drawing, the exactness of the proportions, the subtlety of the color schemes are quite extraordinary.

Hunting scenes, geometric patterns of art deco or more contemporary inspiration, heavy bunches of grapes, oak leaves in autumnal hues, fruits and flowers, rosebuds, ears of wheat, mimosa, oranges and lemons, ferns, lilies and thistles, ivy, geraniums - all seem ready to take shape before our eyes.

Never for a moment departing from its tradition of quality and exclusivity, Noël is now producing a stream of new designs for collections of bed linen, table linen, towels or T -shirts.

Among the most recent examples is "Constellation", a tablecloth embroidered with two thousand stars, which was designed by Annabelle d'Huart in celebration of the new millennium. Meanwhile, motifs of squirrels, dolphins and chickens animals which decorated the bibs created by Noël in the 1930s have been updated for today's babies, and now feature on the bibs and teddy bears in the "Bebe Noël" collection.

The legend of Noël...

NOEL
Les nouveautés
Les nappes
Les sets de table
Les parures de lit
Les serviettes
éponge
Les trousses de
toilette
Les t-shirts
Les cadeaux de
naissance
Les ouvrages
à broder
Le livre


Boutique ouverte
du lundi au samedi
de 10H30 à 19H00

1, Av. Pierre 1er
de Serbie
Place d'Iéna
75116 Paris

Tél. 01 40 70 14 63
 
  Accueil  ||  Collections  ||   Savoir-faire  ||  Historique  ||  Votre commande  || Contactez-nous   
 
Un savoir faire unique
La "broderie main"
Le "métier à broder"  
Le "guidé main"

La volonté de Noël est de perpétuer la magie et le charme de la broderie, en utilisant toutes les techniques qui s’offrent aujourd'hui, rendant la somptuosité de la broderie à la main plus abordable grâce à l’utilisation exclusive et perfectionniste des possibilités qu’offre la machine.

 

La "broderie main"

Les célèbres nappes brodées à la main sont les pièces maîtresses des collections Noël. Ces chefs d'oeuvre de l'art de la broderie sont décorés des plus fameux motifs de la maison, qui en possède près de 13000 dans ses archives : boutons de roses, épis de blés, mimosas, oranges et citrons, fougères, lys et chardons, vendanges, lierre, géraniums...

La broderie à la main exige un minutieux travail de préparation. Les motifs originaux, dessinés sur des calques finement perforés, sont reportés au pochoir sur le lin, le coton ou l'organdi, puis brodés par les doigts experts. Ce travail d'orfèvre s'apparente à celui de la haute couture.

 

Le "métier à broder"

Le "métier" est capable de broder mécaniquement un grand nombre de motifs identiques. La préparation est longue et entièrement manuelle. Il s'agit de sélectionner toutes les couleurs de fil nécessaires au dessin choisi. Cette technique est utilisée pour broder les nappes, les bordures de draps, des éponges, la lingerie de nuit et la majorité des articles cadeaux.

 

Le "guidé main"

A mi-chemin entre la main et la machine, la broderie "guidée à la main" offre davantage de liberté dans la mise en scène du dessin et de sophistication dans son exécution : c'est une ouvrière qui guidera d'une main habile l'aiguille de sa machine à broder.

 

13.000 dessins d'archives :
une source d'inspiration permanente

Les motifs de broderies Noël sont inspirés des inépuisables archives conservées par la maison depuis 1883 (plus de 13.000 dessins, des milliers de calques soigneusement roulés, de toutes les tailles pour toutes les compositions, prêts à être utilisés).

Source d'inspiration permanente, ces dessins ne demandent qu'à être revisités pour coller à l'air du temps. On s'extasie devant la finesse du dessin, l'exactitude des proportions, la subtilité des coloris.

Scènes de chasse animalières, motifs géométriques d'inspiration art déco ou plus contemporaine, lourdes grappes de raisins, feuilles de chênes aux couleurs d'automne, fruits et fleurs, boutons de roses, épis de blés, mimosas, oranges et citrons, fougères, lys et chardons, vendanges, lierre, géraniums semblent prêts à prendre forme sous nos yeux.

Cet extraordinaire patrimoine est respec- tueusement conservé, restauré et réactualisé, jour après jour. Pour continuer à écrire son histoire, la maison crée en permanence de nouveaux dessins qui décorent chaque saison nappes, draps, éponges ou T-shirts.

Dernier exemple en date : "Constellation", une nappe brodée de deux mille étoiles, imaginée par Annabelle d'Huart pour célébrer le passage à l'an 2000, ou des écureuils, une basse cour, des cocottes - qui déjà décoraient le blanc pour enfant signé Noël dans les années 1930 - ont été remis au goût des bébés de l'an 2000 et brodées sur les bavoirs et les nounours de la collection "Bébé Noël"...

La légende de Noël...